Body and Soul

I have spent my life hating my body.
 Feeding it to stop the pain.
 Stuffing my mouth…to forget my father stuffing it.
 Eating won’t make it go away.
 Ignoring won’t make it go away.
 Numbing can’t make it go away.

Where would I like to be?
   Present in and with and to my body.
   Loving it for what it is right now.
   Letting myself grow up and into my body.
   Letting myself feel my body.

Where would I rather be?
   Letting my body fit my soul.
   Letting my body enfold my soul.
   Loving my body as I do my soul.

Looking at my body as sacred.
Looking at my body.
Looking…

My body is all I have…to hold my soul, my brain.

I must hold it as sacred.
I must hold it.
I must.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Body Image, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

