Love Your Body Day (O…M…G…)

Psst…today is love your body day!
What?

Love your body day!
Love whose body?

YOUR body!
My WHAT?

Your body…you know, the thing you’re walking around inside of.
The vehicle that takes you everywhere, goes everywhere with you.
Holds all your organs.
You know.

No I don’t.
My car takes me everywhere.
Every once in a while, a cab or a friend does.
Maybe a train or a plane.
Body? Feh!

Listen up!  Today you’re going to love your body.
Do you hear me?
Just today.
Tomorrow we’ll see…

Not me.
If it were up to me, I wouldn’t even have one.
Just a brain and hands to write and do pottery with.
That’s enough for me, thank you very much.

Here’s what we’re going to do.
You’re going to repeat after me:

I.
I.

Love.
Love.

My.
My.

Body.
Brain.

That’s not what I said.
I know.  I’m aware.

Let’s try again:

I.
I.

(Good.)  Love.
Love.

(Excellent.)  My.
My.

(Wonderful!)  Body.
Bathroom.

C’mon…I know you can do this.
I know you want to do this
(part of you does, anyway).

I.
I.

Love.
Love.

My.
My.

Body.
<silence>

Well?
<silence>

Please?
<silence>

C’mon…pretty please?

<deep breath>
I accept that I have a body.
And that’s as far as I can go right now.

OK.  Good.  Great!
For you, that’s progress.
For you, that’s a lot.
For you, that’s huge.
Thank you.

For me, it IS progress.
For me, it IS a lot.
For me, it IS huge.

There’s always next year, right?
Right.
And next month, right?
Right.
And next week, right?
Right.
And tomorrow’s another day…
I heard that somewhere.

Goodnight…
Sleep tight…

(psst…i love my body)

This post is part of the 2011 Love Your Body Day Blog Carnival: http://www.now.org/news/blogs/index.php/sayit/2011/10/19/lybd-blog-carnival-posts

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Body Image, Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Your Body Day (O…M…G…)

  1. This is so cool 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

