#BlogElul 18: Pray

blogelul2014Prayer, for me, is a gift.
A gift of time to commune with God
whatever/whoever that means
the God inside, nature, a higher power,
a mystical being.

Prayer, for me, is about ritual.
Over the years, I have created my own
order and rules – to know how
and what to expect from God
who deserves at least this.

 

Prayer, for me, is interactive.
My first rule is that I cannot be
a passive supplicant, content
merely to ask God to do things
for me or others.

Prayer, for me, is about respect.
Honoring God and myself
it feels crucial to meet God
halfway – or as close as I can
to be an active participant.

Prayer, for me, is about gratitude.
At the start of every prayer
I thank God – for my child
for health, for love, for leading me
out of the dark so often.

Prayer, for me, is about others.
I ask God to watch over my loved ones
help them through hard times
keep them safe, heal them
I pray for peace in the world.

Prayer, for me, is about finding myself.
I reach out to God for what I need
most often guidance and strength
helping me to find my way
hope when I am in despair.

Prayer, for me, is about connection.
It is my time to take a deep breath
to connect with God
to connect with myself.
And for this I say, Amen.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Elul, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

