#BlogElul 21: Change

blogelul2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Change is a 24/7 thing
A no-holds-barred thing
A careful-what-you-wish-for thing
A watch-for-it thing.

Elul is double down time
Change appears in our waking time
Our daydreaming time
Our REM sleep time

If we are doing what we should
Looking at ourselves as we should
Reflecting on our faults as we should
Weighing our actions as we should.

Change is a lifelong thing
A process thing
A what-did-you-learn-today thing
A put-your-arms-around-it-and-hug-it thing

We begin it anew
Reflect on it anew
Return to it anew
Each Elul.


I’ve decided to participate for the first time in #blogElul, which I have followed for a few years. I’ve never had the courage to get my feet wet – this year, I’m jumping into the deep end of the pool! Check out some of the amazing  themed posts geared around the work and joy of Elul – of introspection and reflection in the days leading to the High Holy Days (Organized by Ima Bima.) You can read last year’s and this year’s #blogElul posts via the Elul tag.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Elul, Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

