#BlogElul 26: Hope

blogelul2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prayer – 5775

Each new year begins with hope
for endings of our harmful ways
and beginnings of growth and return.

For myself, I hope to stop hating myself
to keep writing poetry and taking photographs
to return to the place of my soul.

For my loved ones, I hope they are able
to stay in good health, in good spirits, and reach
beyond themselves to a place of joy.
.
For my country, I hope that we can put an end to
our bickering, begin finding our commonalities, and
stop corporations from overtaking us.

For Israel, the country of my soul, I
hope the leaders stop the settlements, and open
their hearts to a place of peace, not war.

For our world, our beautiful world, I hope that
we can stop the hatred and killing, and begin a
new era of healing and love.

For God, I hope that our transgressions are
not taken as the entirety of who we are, but
rather as a profound and desperate cry for help.


I’ve decided to participate for the first time in #blogElul, which I have followed for a few years. I’ve never had the courage to get my feet wet – this year, I’m jumping into the deep end of the pool! Check out some of the amazing  themed posts geared around the work and joy of Elul – of introspection and reflection in the days leading to the High Holy Days (Organized by Ima Bima.) You can read last year’s and this year’s #blogElul posts via the Elul tag.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Elul, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

