#BlogElul 29: Return

blogelul2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Return is an oddity
in the context of Elul
I don’t want to return
to who I was before
all my reflections
and ponderings.

I think of it instead as re-turn
taking a turn from where I am
to a better place
a stronger place
a place that honors me
that honors the ones I love
dead and alive
that honors God.

My ponderings have gelled
I am ready for the gift of the
Yamim Noraim, the Days of Awe
I am ready to be with community
to pray and atone
to celebrate the new year
to give myself a chance
to give action to my words
to move from words to deeds
to re-turn.


This is the last entry in my first foray into the wonder of  #blogElul.  I am so grateful to all who have followed my month of blogging. It is my intent to keep up the blogging, but with a new structure – or perhaps with no structure at all!  Thank you to Rabbi Phyllis Sommer (Ima On and Off the Bima) for inspiring me, in so many ways. 

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Elul, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

