Greatness

Last night, I paid a Shiva call to a family that is not in my synagogue community. During the service, I had a very different experience with my favorite prayer, the Amidah, during which you pray alone, in the midst of community. In my community, the overwhelming majority of congregants prays silently. In the community of the Shiva family, the tradition is to quietly read the prayer aloud (either in English or Hebrew). Because of this, I was unable to form words for my own prayers, so I stood and prayed without them.

In the midst of this, a phrase came to me “There is greatness.” Today, I wrote this poem:

There is greatness
in standing with community
silently communing
amidst a whispering cacophony.

There is greatness
in the quiet din of prayer
two languages harmonizing
when words are unnecessary.

There is greatness
in standing before God
open to a new path of dialogue
direct discourse without wording.

There is greatness
in knowing that prayer is heard
in poetry presenting itself
in the quiet calm of community’s voice.

 

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greatness

  1. Sharon Solomon says:

    inspiring

  2. Deb S says:

    Love it

Leave a Reply

