“Say You’re Sorry!”

This is amazing advice. I wish my parents had modeled apologizing. I’d be a different – and better – person. Please read this if you have young children. I promise you it’s worth it!

Visible Child

????????

Today, this article came across my facebook newsfeed, all about how to teach our children to apologize “the right way.”  I can see how this would feel helpful and important for many parents and teachers, but  it just made me so sad, especially where toddlers and preschoolers are concerned.

Sad?   What could be more useful than teaching children how to apologize sincerely?  We all have adults in our lives whose apologies, even when purportedly heartfelt, feel hollow.   Many of us have spent time and big bucks on therapy to learn to apologize to one another in ways that are meaningful.   Why wouldn’t we want to teach these valuable skills to our children?

The answer?  Of course we want to teach these valuable skills to our children.  (To be fair, some of the ideas in the article are good teaching tools for older children who are more capable of understanding the…

View original post 1,642 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

