Healing – Bonus Day: O. M. G. – How Could I Forget?

Oh. My. God. How could I have forgotten?
Forest, meet trees. Trees, meet forest.
How could I heal without God?
Without faith and trust?
Without belief?

I couldn’t.
I wouldn’t have.
Not without knowing.
Not without contemplation.
Oh. My God. Not without praying to God.

Praying not for the answer to my prayers.
Praying for the forest. And the trees.
Praying for guidance and love.
Praying for hope.
Praying.

In words.
In imagery.
Opening my soul.
Speaking from my heart.
Standing in silence. Trusting in faith.

Faithfully trusting even as I wonder.
Wondering even as I trust.
God’s grace or mine?
The God inside?
Or out?

Both?
Or neither?
Is there one truth?
Or too many to count?
Forest, meet forest. Trees, meet trees.

Thank you God. The God I know.
The God who knows me well.
The God I feel is there.
The God I love.
God.

 

 

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in God, Healing, Judaism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

