The Alien In My Closet

Really had fun reading this! Love the ending.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

AliensThe Alien

In my closet

Refuses

To come out

And explore

The rest

Of my house.

He insists

That his mission

Is to explore

Strange, new worlds

And nothing

He has seen

On Earth

So far

Intrigues him

As much as

My closet.

I didn’t realize

My clothes

Were that

Exciting,

But hey…

I’m no Alien.

I’m really

Not sure

What he does

For food,

But I have noticed

That the closet

Is NEVER

Dusty anymore.

The Alien

In my closet

Seems scared

Of my cats.

Whenever

The kitties

Saunter

Into my room,

The Alien

In my closet

Lets out something

Akin to

A whimper

And vanishes

Into the darkest corner

Of the closet.

The cats

Don’t seem

To care

One way

Or the other.

Then again,

Do cats care

About anything

Other than

Napping,

Eating,

And grooming?

On occasion,

I have noticed

The Alien

In my closet

Trying to

View original post 88 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Alien In My Closet

  1. Austin says:

    I’m glad you liked my poem. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Thanks. We’re getting used to it – it’s been pretty much a constant in our lives since the end of January.

Leave a Reply

