Healing Today’s Brokenness

IMG_1093Today was my mom’s birthday
she is no longer of this earth
except in memories
which abound
from me
from my family and friends.

Today I am broken
my heart has a crack a mile wide
it beats:
IMG_0351to the tune of her voice singing to beat the band
to the ring of her laughter at a joke’s punch line
to the twinkle in her eyes as she let loose with a pun
to the brilliance as she solved the NY Times crossword
to the skill of a master teacher inspiring her students
to the unbreakable bond between her and my daughter.

I fill the crack with my memories
making myself whole again
honoring my mom as she would want
carrying her with me
crying as I smile
laughing through my tears
loving through my pain.

Sang-Bleu_kintsugi

 

I am repaired
kintsugi healing the rifts
and rips left behind.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Grieving, My Mama, Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healing Today’s Brokenness

  1. I’m sorry about your losing your Mom. I lost my Dad ten years ago. He doesn’t feel all that far away though, I’m carrying him in my heart everywhere. Excellent post, following you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lilypup says:

    A wonderful tribute. Am sure your mom would have modestly brushed it off. 🙂 http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

