Ah, Mindfulness.

Wonderful piece about mindfulness and parenting. And about watching the flow, instead of jumping in (or letting ourselves be swept in) by the triggers. Love this so much.

Visible Child

youngstown-sinks-2Ah, Mindfulness.

Mindfulness.  Mindfulness.  Mindfulness.

Yes, please.

With a side order of humility, please, except can I have that on a separate plate?  Thanks.

This morning, I am triggered.   I am triggered by my 15 year old.

When I am triggered, I “kitchen sink.”  It’s not a productive or healthy pattern, but it’s mine, and I have been known to treasure it like a precious heirloom.  I have “kitchen sinked” in my intimate relationships, in my friendships, and as a parent.  It’s how I am.  I “go there.”

Oh.  Some of you are lost.  Sorry.   For those of you who are not familiar with “kitchen-sinking,” it’s the pattern by which, when we become upset with someone or someone offends or harms us, we are flooded with–and frequently respond with–the emotions associated with all of the prior times that something similar happened, all the mistakes and violations that that person has…

View original post 2,432 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ah, Mindfulness.

  1. visiblechild says:

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  2. Maz says:

    Love this… Know just what you mean..
    Keep writing…
    See my words at:
    gramswisewords.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Luanne says:

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

