Experiments in Parenting: What If?

Great parenting advice – when you read it, you’ll feel like you’re right in the room with the author.

Visible Child

what_ifI want you to do me a favor.

I want you to go on a little trip with me–a “what if” trip.  A trip to an imaginary place, where everything you know and value and feel is suspended for a few minutes.  In this place, when you come in, there will be shelves.  You will be asked to put all that you think and feel about your children, all of your frustrations, all your guilt or questioning or dogma or certainty or wisdom, and all that you think and know about yourself and your role as a parent into a special little cubby for safekeeping.  I promise you it will all still be there when we get back.  Guaranteed.   It won’t be a long trip. You’ll be back at home, safely ensconced in your life, values, and beliefs, before you know it.  There is no danger, and no commitment…

View original post 3,066 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

