Choices, Part 1 of 3: Why? When?

Really helpful piece on how and when to give your children choices.

Visible Child

apple or pear

I’ve encountered a lot of misunderstandings about offering children choices recently. I’m hoping a rundown might help.  Today, Part 1 of 3, focusing on why and when choices are a good idea.

1.  Why offer choices? 

One of the most critical and valuable pieces of advice we can receive in today’s social media-saturated world is “Don’t Read The Comments.”  Just don’t do it.  It’s bad for your health.  But, you know, if you do read the comments on parenting articles (which I sometimes do, let’s just say I do it for you so you don’t have to, I’m giving like that), you will most assuredly encounter comments bemoaning the notion that “crazy parents these days are negotiating with their kids, that’s why kids are turning out to be such spoiled brats” (or some variation on that theme).

I always read those comments with a smile, because little do they know…

View original post 2,494 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

