Now It’s The Donald – Men in Power

What the hell is it about men in power? Do they lose their minds? Their morals? Any semblance of common decency? Are they unable to think except with their penises?

Today’s focus in on The Donald. Trump, that is. And no, today I’m not talking about his bloviating about Mexico, or Merika’s “immigration crisis.” That’s reprehensible, and he’s facing business consequences that will hurt him when his proverbial 15 minutes of fame as the republican presidential front runner are over.

Donald+Trump+Ivanka+Trump+Trump+Nakheel+Introduce+lmvxLRCLIvIlNo – this is about his statement that if his daughter Ivanka weren’t his daughter, he might be dating her. Is this supposed to be funny? A little light-hearted humor by a clueless man who really doesn’t have a sense of humor? I think not. I think it verges on abuse. If it doesn’t actually cross the line. Who says this kind of stuff? About his child?

I know I’m highly sensitive to this kind of talk. As an incest survivor, my antennae go up immediately. The red flags wave frantically. My amygdala goes into overdrive. I have to remind myself to breathe. I start tapping – left foot, right foot – almost desperately. This is a man who does not respect the father/daughter relationship. Even if he does not cross the line into actual physical abuse – and I won’t pass judgment on that – it’s a grossly inappropriate and stupid thing to say.

The Donald would never get my vote, under any circumstances. But I can’t see why anyone would even consider him as a real candidate.

But that’s beside the point here. I am beside myself about the abuses of men in power. Men who have power and wield it for themselves and nobody else. Who harm women in the process. Bill Cosby with his quaaludes. Donald Trump with his objectification of his daughter (and by extension, all women). I am on overload.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Incest, Outrage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now It’s The Donald – Men in Power

  1. Carol Bourne says:

    What has always fascinated me is the lie Merika tells itself: that these attitudes and behaviors are aberrational. From what I can see, they’re normal, and apparently, acceptable!

  2. I guess no matter how rich you are, you can’t buy IQ or EQ.

    I know for a fact he could buy better hair, though, and chooses not to. So there’s that.

Leave a Reply

