On Independent Play and the Origins of “I’M BORED”

Another thought-provoking piece from #VisibleChild, this one about infants and over-stimulation, and the effect on the newly-developing brain.

Visible Child

Bored-KidsThis morning, I’m musing (I do that), mostly as a result of a juxtaposition between two posts on the respectful parenting group that I run on facebook.  One of the posts was a very simple question, asking parents if and how and why they actively play with their children (great question!)  The other post was an article–albeit one that has a couple of failings, but important nonetheless–that I shared from the New York Times about the epidemic of overscheduling children.  The discussion that ensued threw me into a very familiar place of conjecture (okay, also kind of a rant)–something that I think (and angst) about all the time.  And what better place to have a conjecture-rant than on one’s blog?

So here’s my wondering.

I wonder how many parents understand or appreciate or even consider the link between the way in which we interact with infants and toddlers…

View original post 2,196 more words

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

