#blogElul 2017 – Day 18: Ask

Praying is asking blogelul+2017
humbly
for help.

Preface with please
always
follow with gratitude.

Please God
watch
over my child.

Please God
help
me breathe.

Please God
free
me from rage.

calm_angerPlease God
lift
hatred and fear.

Please God
let
me find calm.

Please God
guide
my steps.

Please God
may
I dwell in Your house…

all the days
of my life.

Thank you
God
I am grateful.

 

(With thanks to the Velveteen Rabbi for the Youtube link.)


Once again, I’m participating in #blogElul, which I have followed for a few years. In past years, I’ve found it helpful as I ponder and reflect in the month before the High Holidays – Yamim Noraim. Check out some of the amazing themed posts geared around the work and joy of Elul – of introspection and reflection in the days leading to the High Holy Days (Organized by Ima Bima.) You can read prior years’ #blogElul posts via the Elul tag.

About armsakimbobook

I'm a mother, a lawyer, a feminist, a writer, a potter, and an inveterate and unapologetic New Yorker. My book, Arms Akimbo: A Journey of Healing, tells of my journey of healing over a number of years, learning to live a full life after I was molested by my father at a very young age. I live in Medford, MA, part time with my 11 year-old daughter and full time with our dog, Toast, and our cats, Samson and Hercules.
This entry was posted in Elul, God, Healing, Jewish, Judaism, Poems, Prayer Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

